Bedbugs, other writers, and the amazing Scott Lynch signing things!

Okay, so it’s been a while, and I promised writing posts – I will get to those, no fear!

My excuse is an unusual one. I have bedbugs.

Yes, bedbugs. Those creepy little crawly things that think it’s fun to munch on me in the night. As a result, my whole house is being disinfected and I am living on the sofa. For a month. Hardly ideal.

But even so, life goes on and my writing, shock horror, also goes on. Before I go on to fangirl a little over another of my favourite writers, I’d just like to casually announce that I have been accepted, wonder of all wonders, to a writers’ group. Harsh critique and the knowledge of those who have been doing this longer, or better than I have should hopefully get me just where I need to go with all of this. It will be good to be among serious writers at last!

… And now to illustrate why I can not at all be put into the category of ‘serious writers’:

I met Scott Lynch! *insert a large quantity of happy faces here*

… For anyone who doesn’t know who that is, Scott Lynch is the writer of the Gentleman Bastards Sequence. If you still don’t know who that is, yes the books are pretty much exactly as they sound. Scott Lynch builds a world that seems to breathe on its own, complete with bloody violence and language you wouldn’t take home to your mother. I’d definitely put a ‘not for children’ warning on this one. Even so, I find Locke Lamora and his band of thieves inescapably… charming.

I’m sorry to say this is not an interview. Maybe one day I will collar the poor man into answering some questions, but in the meantime let it be known that much like Lev Grossman, Scott Lynch is in fact as good a person as he is a writer. He spent a lot of time talking with the readers (so much so that the people around him had to hurry him up) and fought through dreadful English weather to get to us. There are some fabulous pictures online – George R R Martin crashed the signing, too, and of course Elizabeth Bear (don’t forget Mary Robinette Kawal with her brand new Hugo Award) – but I won’t steal anyone else’s work to show you. Go look it up!

In the meantime, have a picture that is entirely mine:

Signing!

Got to love an author who takes the time to doodle while he’s signing and there’s a queue building up!

And also, don’t forget to go buy his stuff!

Amazon Links to The Gentlemen Bastards Sequence (oooh look, aren’t I fancy? I figured out how to get rid of the stupid long links and make them look pretty!):

The Lies of Locke Lamora

Red Seas Under Red Skies

The Republic of Thieves (new one!)

Leave a Reply

