Writing sexuality.

Same-sex marriage is legal in the US. The world is becoming rainbow coloured. And my first thought was about writing sexuality.

Because for me, here in the UK, the marriage issue was important because of equal rights, and so on… but primarily for awareness. To say ‘look, we’re here, we’re the same as everyone else and we deserve to be treated as such’.

So as a writer, the first thing I thought about was our books. There is a movement towards writing characters with other sexualities, but even so it can get cliched and awkward… we’re getting there, but most of the books I’ve come across so far have been rather stereotypical OR they’ve been written by someone of that sexuality and so on…

It shouldn’t be that hard. It shouldn’t. If I can write a dragon turned into a human, I can write a gay guy without making him prance about. I myself consistently write characters with sexualities I don’t have. I don’t think any of my characters have shared my sexuality yet. And I hope I haven’t stereotyped them (what are the ‘straight people’ stereotypes? I don’t know…).

What I’m trying to say in a very roundabout way is… you’d be surprised what writing can do. What we can do, just by telling stories. And we need to do that.

– K Hart

One thought on “Writing sexuality.

Leave a Reply

