Emotion Market – Dimitris Chasapis (Book Review)

So, I started doing book reviews properly again this time, and thought I’d share this step into the world of reading from an entirely different angle.

I received an ARC of this book from the author and the BookTasters team in order to provide an honest review.

I actually chose to read and review this book specifically because the concept was so intriguing to me. I have a background in philosophy and in psychology, which made reading several of the internal moral debates featured in the book particularly interesting to me. I liked the way we got to see a real reversal of expectations in some areas – for example the couple in which the wife had undergone emotional modifications in order to relieve depression. Without too many spoilers, I feel that the expected result here was turned on its head, where the removal of such thoughts had its negative side. Additionally, certain characters and their traits seemed to mesh particularly well with the discovery – for instance Caroline, its creator. It was very easy to see how her previous life experiences, personality and attitude led to the person we see on the page.

There were a few things that initially, especially, put me off. Stylistically some of the writing didn’t feel right to me. Some parts could have been dealt with in a far stronger manner if they’d been hinted at, rather than said explicitly. In other cases, elements of the story seemed to disappear, like Mary Ann’s own particular plotline revolving around her son, that didn’t quite seem to fit in with the rest. But the only reason, I would say, these things were so noticeable was because I actually WANTED that much more of the story to be explored. There is such a lot of potential here, in this storyline, and it shows a strong imagination and an intriguing approach to the human experience. I understand this is the first in a series, and I hope the author gets to explore more of this in further novels.

If I was looking to recommend this, I would mention it to friends and fans of sci-fi more than of thrillers, primarily because what seems to make this book appealing is the concept. What sci-fi as a genre does, asks ‘what if?’, is the source of all of this. I think that for me, a lot of the issues I had with this were overshadowed by the… I suppose the fun I had reading about and considering the concept.

-K Hart

Leave a Reply

