A Little Princess – Frances Hodgson Burnett

Progress on Alternate: 48,209 words

Current Review:

I read  A Little Princess. I can’t remember when I first read it. I know it was because my mother suggested it, and I know it made me smile. I know it still makes me smile as an adult.

I think most children play pretend sometimes. I think it’s a wonderful thing, to be able to step out of the situation you’re in and say ‘I’m not doing this right now, I’m in a different world, a magical, wondrous one’. As a writer I feel like I’m constantly doing that. Just living in a world that other people aren’t living in. And it’s no coincidence that it’s in our worst times, when we most need to escape, that we’re most drawn to imagination and creativity.

It’s a child’s story, but when you think about it, a very adult idea. Sometimes if we just pretend, if we can just step away and let ourselves be free, we can help ourselves create and live in something beyond this world.

I’m terrible with children. But their imaginations are beautiful. And I always wondered if growing up would mean I would no longer live in a world of imagination. And that idea made me sad. I’m now a grown up (or at least something that passes for one), and I still don’t live in the real world. Not very often, anyway.

-K Hart

Leave a Reply

