Crossbones – Stefan M Nardi Review

Progress on Alternate: 48,229 words

Current Review:

So, I’m part of the Booktasters community which means that when I took a look at this I got a free copy from the author in exchange for an honest review.

I wanted to read this book because immediately, it hit about three of my favourite things: pirates, fae, and magic. So I was more than happy to take a look.

I’ll start by saying that I loved the idea behind it the moment I picked it up, and I could see a lot of spirit in the characters. I’ve mentioned before that I love brother/sister/family relationships, too. Dean and Eldric were fun characters, definite pirate types.

I think the part that was less great, for me, was that everything moved so fast. It felt like one minute we were out on a ship in a storm and then the next there were new people that we hadn’t been properly introduced to, changes of scenery, lore that could have been expanded on. As a book, Crossbones is very short, but not through lack of content. It seems like it’s that way through lack of expansion.

I’m awful for remembering to give certain detail at times myself, but this does make me a little sad. I think this book could be SO GOOD. It just needs a little more of that life poured into it.

-K Hart

Leave a Reply

