The Secret of Abdu El Yezdi – Mark Hodder Review

Progress on Alternate: Editing at 84%

Current Review:

Burton and Swinburne #4. Yay, at last. One I haven’t read before comes onto my shelf. I was quite sad that it took me a little while longer to get into this book than it had into its predecessors, however when I did I began to enjoy it just as much.

Mentions of Bram Stoker, Charles Dodgeson, and even Rosetti and the Pre-Raphaelites were all greatly appreciated by the happy history and literature fan in me. Though, as I believe I’ve read in another review of this book, you do have to wonder now… how many alternate realities, exactly?

I do think Mark Hodder managed really well to actually keep things together, which is impressive in itself given the many millions of complexities that come with writing time travel – I wouldn’t like to see his planning board!

I also had an increase in respect for the sheer fight in Isabel Arundell, I have to admit…

I don’t really know what else to say. If you’re reading this I will assume you have read the rest of the series in which case I encourage you… keep reading! As far as I’m concerned there hasn’t been a dip in writing quality large enough to justify an incomplete reading of this series yet! And I have hopes for its continued improvement.

-K Hart

Leave a Reply

