Ensnared – Rita Stradling Review

This is the first review I’ve done as a NetGalley user, so yay! I got a free copy of this from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. As a result, this is going to have a different set-out from some of my other reviews.

Alainn’s father is not a bad man. He’s a genius and an inventor. When he’s hired to create the robot Rose, Alainn knows taking the money is a mistake.

Rose acts like a human. She looks exactly like Alainn. But, something in her comes out wrong.

To save her father from a five year prison sentence, Alainn takes Rose’s place. She says goodbye to the sun and goes to live in a tower no human is allowed to enter. She becomes the prisoner of a man no human is allowed to see.

Believing that a life of servitude lies ahead, Alainn finds a very different fate awaits her in the company of the strange, scarred recluse.

Why did I pick this up? A beauty and the beast retelling set in the near future with AI and futuristic technology? Yes please. The cover is gorgeous, and I was completely intrigued by how the old tale could be resurrected into something new.

Good points: SO MANY. This kept me reading until the very last page. I loved Blue, an AI monkey that helps Alainn throughout, and Lorcan, this reclusive, mysterious man locked away in his house who ordered an AI robot to keep him company and eat dinner with him, is someone I instantly fell in love with. Alainn is a great heroine, ass-kicking throughout, with a hidden secret that OF COURSE plays a part in her life later on. I loved Shelly, too, though I’m not sure I was supposed to. This frightened, incredibly brave woman facing her fears and working hard to deal with a world that terrifies her.

Quibbles: As I just said I liked Shelly, I wanted to know what happened to her. I wanted to see Blue, see them all in their future lives, not just Alainn and Lorcan. Also, there were sex scenes in the middle of this book that for me came out of nowhere – eek, mature content! I don’t normally read romance, or like it, but I have to admit I liked this book, even with the mini-freak out I had in the middle because BAM, sex happened.

Overall (TL:DR): Loved it, would buy a copy, but would probably skim the sex scenes, I have to admit. Worth reading just for cute little Blue. Affection for an AI monkey? Why not?

Leave a Reply

