Forests of the Fae – K Kibbee Review

When thirteen-year-old Anne is sent to spend the summer with her dreadful relatives in a small Washington state town, she is left with little hope that anything intriguing will happen to her. However, when she learns of an abandoned town full of old Victorian homes hidden in the woods nearby, she embraces the lore and becomes bolstered by the idea that an adventure might await.

Her sadistic cousin Lexie feeds Anne’s curiosity and leads her to the mysterious town in the woods, where Anne is goaded by her cousin and friends to enter one of the abandoned homes, alone, and is locked inside.

While searching for a way out, Anne stumbles through a hole in the floor and unknowingly falls into an ominous, ghost-filled mystery. As she digs deeper into the secrets of this house, she discovers a weathered journal that reveals a magic-infused history hundreds of years old and a tragic secret: a curse has trapped the town and its inhabitants in a place not meant to be found by humans.

Treacherous fairies, dark worlds-within-our-world, dangerous creatures and a shocking truth all await Anne as page by page, she peels back the mysteries of this chilling town.

I wanted to love this book so much. It sounded fascinating from the description, but in reality it took so long to get into that I almost gave up. Even so, it was around chapter seven or eight before I decided I was interested at all, and I kept reading purely because I have a determination always to finish a book. Give it a full chance. I feel like I wasted a lot of time, to be honest.

I understand that the book’s target audience is a little younger than me, and I honestly feel that they would get bored even quicker. It’s such a shame, because the concept has been done, and done better, but in theory it could have been SO GOOD. It just fell flat for me.

-K Hart

Leave a Reply

