PitchWars Bio…

I’m Kaye, and I suck at writing bios. There, it felt good to get that out. But I’m going to do this anyway because I’ve been watching everyone put their bios up and getting jealous.

anigif_enhanced-13801-1450302399-1

SO, I write stories about glam rock witches, Dissociative Identity Disorder, sentient gardens, fallen angels, faerie bars, ghostly orchestras, polyamorous dandies and basically anything weird and wonderful. This year I’m submitting a NA/upper YA novel about glam rock musician witches forming a rebellion in a world where anything creative makes magic, and magic is banned.

Other things you need to know about me:

1. I have blue hair.

C8vDTDLXoAAQSoT

2. I like small spaces.

tumblr_o4kiwukoaG1ro4defo2_400

3. I love playing the piano, violin and guitar (all badly).

playing-violin-animated-gif-8

4. My favourite book is Lev Grossman’s The Magicians.

tumblr_mhfcufE5hN1qagu6wo1_500

5. I love poetry. Especially Swinburne.

quote-Algernon-Charles-Swinburne-from-too-much-love-of-living-from-146786

6. I’m a female dandy.

18157900_1675061259176603_7027324132254474951_n

And I think that’s all! So I’ll say goodbye and wish you all luck.

tumblr_o5jf7wWnvZ1qltme0o3_500

– K Hart

4 thoughts on “PitchWars Bio…

  1. Hi Kaye! I love your blue hair. Do you have any interest in cosplaying as Michiru Kaiou with that hair and violin? 😀

    Also, I’m curious about New Adult genre fiction. I’ve been told that NA is mostly for contemporary and that adding fantasy would basically just make it adult fantasy. But I assume that YA used to be mostly contemporary until they added fantastical elements, too. What are your thoughts on this?

    Best of luck in Pitch Wars!

    • Hey, thank you for the compliment. I’ve never looked into cosplay much, but I probably look like a cosplay character in my outfits anyway!

      I’m not sure exactly where I stand. I think NA can quite easily be in Fantasy genres too, because it’s all about the voice. If YA is a ‘teen voice’ or ‘young adult’ voice, NA is sort of what I like to refer to as my ‘attempting adulthood stages’. I’m still not sure where my novel stands, to be honest with you, but I was recommended to pitch it as NA 🙂

      • The blue hair and violin totally struck me as Sailor Neptune. But cosplay is pretty expensive :’D

        I think a lot of my own MS has “attempting adulthood,” and even though my MC is eighteen, I want to pitch it as a YA. Regardless of the subject matter (of struggling at a dream job), I still think that ~16-year-olds would enjoy it. But I’m all for NA books branching out into fantasy. I still love the voice and the snappy action of YA, but occasionally I feel I’ve outgrown some things as a reader, especially how most books handle first love.

        Anyway, thanks for the response! 😀

Leave a Reply

